Masters Moments #13 (1968) The score stands

In the Final Round of the 1968 Masters, Robert De Vicenzo of Argentina and Bob Goalby of Illinois each shot brilliant Final Rounds. It seemed like the golf world would return to Augusta the next day for a playoff but something went horribly wrong in the moments after the Final Round, that led to perhaps the most disappointing and heartbreaking loss in Masters History.

(1968) Bob Goalby


Goalby and De Vicenzo were three groups apart on Sunday, De Vicenzo was out first and couldn’t have started any better with an Eagle at the 1st hole, then birdies at 2 and 3 and was up to -8. Goalby started with all pars in the first four holes before birdies at 5, 6 and 8. De Vicenzo added another one at 9 and took a one-shot lead into the back nine. On the back, nine De Vicenzo birdied 12, while Goalby birdied 13, 14 and Eagled 15 at got to -12. De Vicenzo added a birdie at 15 and another at 17 before making his only bogey of the day at the 18th. Goalby was on 16 tee with a one-shot lead he parred 16 but made a massive error with a three-putt bogey at 17 to fall back in a tie. On the 18th Goalby needed a birdie to win, par to tie anything worse and De Vicenzo would be champion. Goalby played the hole as simple as possible taking his par and being content with going to an 18-hole playoff the next day.

Nobody could have imagined what happened next, the CBS camera cut to De Vicenzo talking to club President Bobby Jones and Chairman Clifford Roberts, De Vicenzo looked worried. Minutes went by and nobody knew what was happening then CBS’s Jim Mckay got word that De Vicenzo’s scorecard was under review. De Vicenzo played with Raymond Floyd who kept his scorecard and Floyd marked down a Par 4 on the Par 4, 17th hole where De Vicenzo had made a birdie, but it’s De Vicenzo’s responsibility to look over his scorecard before signing it and handing it into the committee and he missed the mistake. So the scorecard went in with De Vicenzo down one instead of tied and there was nothing he could do about it, Jones and Roberts stood by their rules. The Green Jacket went to Goalby in anticlimactic fashion and he even said he didn’t feel right winning the way he did…De Vicenzo never won the Masters.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s